Settling

I love the feeling of late spring Sundays.  It’s sunny(ish) and invigorating and light.  Oh, the light…

As the smell of homemade bread (I’m a happy and enthusiastic novice) permeates my home and my pores, I feel settled.  The joy of stretching and settling into my own skin envelopes me as much as the aroma of what I am baking.  The simplicity of the ingredients – flour, yeast, salt and water; light, warmth, courage and delight – almost bewilder me with how easy the alchemy is.

Yes, I’ve been sidelined from my previous, more hectic existence by injury, surgery and recovery, but I am not settling for anything less than finding happy truths in everyday living.  I am settling into a deep smile of contentedness as I pick another adventure.

Leave a Reply

